Research News | Software News | Honors/Awards | Publications | All SCI News


Honors and Awards at the SCI Institute


August 27, 2014

UV-CDAT Receives Outstanding Partnership Award from the FLC

The Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) Far-West Region presents Outstanding Partnership award to Ultrascale Visualization Climate Data… Read more
July 16, 2014

Miriah Meyer Receives NSF CAREER Award

Congratulations to Dr. Miriah Meyer who has been awarded an NSF CAREER Award for her proposal, Design Decision Patterns for Visualizing Multivariate Graphs,… Read more
May 05, 2014

Kedar Aras Wins Young Investigator Competition

Congratulations to Kedar Aras who won the Young Investigator prize at the 39th Annual International Society for Computerized Electrocardiology (ISCE)… Read more
January 30, 2014

SCI's Michael Liu on Winning Team at Hackdance

SCI Graduate student Michael Liu was a key member on the team that took the Social Impact award at "Hackdance", the first ever celebrity-driven hackathon at… Read more
January 13, 2014

Chris Johnson and Ross Whitaker Elected IEEE Fellows

Congratulations to Professors Chris Johnson and Ross Whitaker who have been elected IEEE Fellows for the class of 2014. Dr. Johnson was elected in recognition… Read more
November 19, 2013

Professor Johnson receives Fernbach Award

Congratulations to Professor Chris Johnson who was awarded the IEEE Computer Society 2013 Sidney Fernbach Award at Supercomputing 2013. This award recognizes… Read more
September 23, 2013

Miriah Meyer Chosen PopTech Science Fellow

Congratulations to Miriah Meyer who has been chosen as a 2013 PopTech Science Fellow! PopTech's Fellows programs aim to accelerate the impact of emerging… Read more
June 26, 2013

SCI Team Wins HBM Hackathon Challenge

Congratulations to Kris Zygmunt, Wei Liu, and Sean McKenna for winning the second challenge of the 2013 HBM Hackathon sponsored by Allen Institute for Brain… Read more
May 30, 2013

Ross Whitaker Selected Member of CRA CCC

Congratulations to SCI faculty member Ross Whitaker who has been selected to serve on the Computing Research Association's (CRA) Computing Community Consortium… Read more
March 18, 2013

Chris Johnson Elected to CRA Board of Directors

SCI Institute Director Chris Johnson has been elected a new member of the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors. Johnson's three-year term on… Read more
December 05, 2012

Jeff Weiss to Receive ASME 2013 Van Mow Medal

Congratulations to Dr. Jeff Weiss who has been selected to receive the 2013 Van Mow Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This highly… Read more